Falling off the wagon, again

Uuuugggggh… When did I last post? Well, too long ago, I know that much. I can’t say I’ve completely fallen off the wagon with the new habits (that aren’t habits yet), I’ve unloaded and reloaded and run the dishwasher at least once every day, I think. Maybe missed once or twice. But the bed hasn’t been made, nor the floor swept, nor the picking up for 5 minutes. I’m slipping back into old habits of NO habits and I don’t like it and I’m not going to let it happen! I think part of it is that when I WAS accomplishing those non-negtioables, I realized how it really wasn’t THAT hard and when I slipped up, I figured, well, it’s not really that hard, I can catch up tomorrow. Yeah, no, NOPE! Not going down that path again! These habits WILL stick, if it’s the last thing I do. The other thing is that I’m getting too many non-negotioables, I can’t remember them all, lol. Sounds dumb, but it’s the truth. I try to remember what else I’m supposed to do, but as I’m thinking, I’m also seeing other stuff to do and I go do that and forget about the non-negotioables for then. I know, I just need to do them in the morning and get them done and I’ve been trying, but it generally takes all day to work through the short list of tasks, due to, ya know, looking at someone’s tower and getting someone else a drink and cleaning up someone else’s poop and the hours it takes to keep all the people fed. And the fact that I’m so distractible and any one of these disruptions can derail the whole list for an hour or more, until I remember what it was I was TRYING to accomplish. But anyway, excuses, excuses. Here is a reiteration of the non-negotioables I’m up to, this is what I will be working to get back on track this week: 

-Make the bed

-Sweep the kitchen floor

-Un/reload/run the dishwasher

-5-minute pickup

I’m not adding anything new this week because I really just need to work harder on these. I think I’m going to try writing them down in a visible place as a reminder that I can see and hopefully actually notice, and also so I can check them off. Because that’s totally worked before. HA.

Leave a Reply

