{You Capture} Motherhood

This one was tough. So tough, in fact, that I kind of procrastinated and, in the end, copped out for something convenient. I was hoping to come up with something very profound and thought-provoking, or a-day-in-my-life kind of thing. But the whole motherhood thing? It kind of got in the way.

Then last night, I realized a little bit of what motherhood means for me.

For me, it means, instead of just picking up and running off to chase the light when I want to, I wrap the babies up and throw them (not literally, of course) into the pickup for a photography expedition.

Maybe it’s kind of inconvenient, but I don’t see it that way. It’s worth losing 5 minutes of the light to bring them along and showing them that it’s ok to drop everything and chase the light. To stop and smell the roses, if you will. That beauty in this life must be grasped onto and appreciated while you can. That life isn’t all about getting things done, which is the way I’m wont to view it at times.

Oh, and the light I was chasing?

Behold the sweetness of the rain-swept prairie and the light that shines between the rain clouds.

Head on over to Beth’s for more profound visual takes on motherhood.

26 thoughts on “{You Capture} Motherhood

  1. Wow…that last pic is stunning! And I love your little guy looking out the window too! My kids are used to me chasing that beautiful light. Any time I see pretty clouds in the sky around sunset they know I’m going to run to the lake for sunset pics.

  2. Beautiful capture of the prairie! And I’m sure your kids appreciate the adventures at least a little bit 🙂
    Wonderful lesson in this post — and so true for photographers. We bundled up our daughter one night just to go capture the full moon. I think she enjoyed it as much as we did!

  3. I was chasing the light last evening too. But I waited until my kiddos were in bed and then escaped out the door! Love that last shot, I can just smell the freshness. Gorgeous (the landscape AND your babies).

  4. I bring my daughter with me too, when I feel the need right now to see if I can catch yet another flower shot or beat the rain and wind for a butterfly photo – ever the optimist. That is what Motherhood is about I think, reconfiguring life, to do what you really want to do around the rest of things.

    Your last shot is just beautiful – I have yet to see real American prairie for real but your photo makes me want to do so even more.

  5. I love this post. Your babies have a great role model to watch you chase creative endeavours!

    I wanted to let you know about The 52 Weeks of Happiness Project going on over at my blog every Tuesday. Please join me in my quest to scout out happiness for a whole year. Simply post a photo of something that makes you wildly happy and tell us all about it. Here is a link to last week’s carnival if you want to see what it is all about.

    http://leighvslaundry.blogspot.com/2011/05/52-weeks-of-happiness-week-10.html

    • THANKS! No, that’s not our place, but a ramshackle place down the road. As you can see, I haven’t blogged much in awhile, but I’m on the verge of coming back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

